Dead internal NIC

Thanks @Lnx2Mac: for the driver and great work, @Locmer: for the post here: http://lnx2mac.blogspot.ru/2011/03/reviving-dead-ethernet-ports.html

My Gygabite NIC suddenly died. I’ve never believed in unpowering and waiting, but I’ve seen an evidence of its usefulness just now! It started after my experiments with external PCI card: I’ve found my NIC dead after some testings. Nothing helped: neither BIOS reflash, nor Smart LAN tests. No lights when the cord is plugged in, no life signs in any OS. I gave up and considered buying another NIC to make my Logic Pro plugins work, as well as iMessage and FaceTime. Luckily I came across with Locmer’s post before the purchase. Thank you so much! Keep sharing! So, here are the steps to make it work again:

– Disable wake on lan in the Bios
– Remove power cord
– Remove Network cable
– press the power on switch to drain the capacitors and any remaining power in the PSU
– wait 5 minutes (I’d like to test if this is really needed)
– plug power cable back
– plug network cable back
– press power switch
– press thumbs 😉

Leave a Reply

